Question: How is goal conversion calculated? Is it the number of people who complete the goal divided by the number of visitors to the web site?
Answer: There are a lot of semantics here. A ‘goal’ to Google Analytics simply means that a website visitor has completed an ‘Action’ that you pre-specified. In most cases, this is a registration or a purchase, and the goal completion is signaled by the ‘thank you form.’
To calculate your Cost Per Action (CPA), you take:
The number of people who hit that page (impressions) / the number of people who successfully completed your goal (registration or purchase). That ratio in percent is know as your conversion rate.
In Google Analytics, you can define a GOAL and even a GOAL VALUE, and it will track your conversion for you. If 1000 people hit your registration page, and 100 registered, then your conversion rate is 10% or 1000/100 = 10%.
Got a question? Click this link to email Jason or call 888-993-1122. Dr. Jason McDonald is founder and Senior SEO / Social Media Director of the JM Internet Group. He teaches the SEO training classes for the group, and therefore provides most of the SEO tips for this blog. His goal with this blog is to provide an easy 'one-stop shop' for the busy marketer looking for tips, tricks, and secrets on how to get to the top of Google and Bing for free using proven SEO tactics. When not dreaming up SEO tips, Dr. McDonald lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his wife, two dogs, a cat, four iguanas and twelve children (just kidding). Really you read down to the bio on this guy? Enjoy the blog.
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